• * = Champ requis

    Propulsé par MailChimp!



Our mandate targets both the development of research and the support for dissemination of contemporary art. As an organization dedicated to art production, our activities consist of encouraging research and reflection on contemporary art and its processes through group residencies of artists, curators, and writers in contemporary art. The dissemination activities aim to increase the impact of the work developed in residency.



In the 1940sSaint-Jean-Port-Joli was known for its large community of crasftsmen and sculptors in wood-carving as well its École de sculpture.

In 1987artists Roberto Pellegrinuzzi, Michel Saulnier, and Pierre Bourgault formed the Studios d’été in the old École de sculpturepremises. The research and production residencies offered enabled contemporary artists to benefit from the local savoir faire as part of their research.

In 1988 and 1990, they launched Histoire de bois and Photo sculpture, residency/exhibitions (Oakville Galleries and the Edmonton Art Gallery), the objective of which was to collectively investigate issues in contemporary art.

In 1992, Studios d’été became the Est-Nord-Est artist-run centre, offering research residencies to national and international artists, with the main objective of encouraging experimentation and exchange in the field of contemporary art.

From 1992 to 2011, aside from regular residencies, seven residency-events were developed. Well-known artists and curators took part, including Marie Fraser, Jacques Doyon, Domingo Cisneros, Lise Labrie, Gaston Saint-Pierre, Mona Hakim, Lesley Johnstone, Rebecca Belmore, Jocelyne Alloucherie, BGL, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Alain Paiement, and Robert Racine. Most of the regular residencies were accompanied by publications.

In 2011, three sets of residencies were offered for Canadian writers and curators in contemporary art.



Dominique Boileau Director

Dominique Allard Artistic Director

Richard Noury Technician

Dominique Garon Administrative Assistant



Michèle Lorrain, Chair

David Naylor, Vice-chair

Paméla Landry, Secratary-treasurer

Amélie Giguère, Administrator

Caroline Gagné, Administrator

Gwenaël Bélanger, Administrator

Julie Faubert, Administrator